Thinking of Into Headship?

I wrote the following for the latest edition of our Authority Education Bulletin.

I found the experience of doing Into Headship absolutely fantastic. As an aspiring Head Teacher, it provided me with the opportunity to learn about and reflect on the elements that are essential to that role; defining the purpose of education, developing and sharing a vision, working with others to implement that vision and ensuring that every learner in your school has the best possible experience of education and achieves the best possible outcomes.
The reading on the course was skilfully selected by our HIE tutor Morag Redford to give us exposure to a wide of leadership and pedagogical theory. I particularly enjoyed reading the work of Brent Davies; for me, the ideas he expresses about authentic and moral leadership and about Head Teachers being community leaders are central to the type of leader I want to be.

The project element of the course was an opportunity to lead a strategic development in an area where improvement was needed and I was extremely fortunate to work with a group which developed the authority education strategy on Looked After Children. The work was both challenging and hugely rewarding but most importantly for me, had real impact.

The course gave us the chance to network with other course participants both within Argyll and Bute and in other parts of Scotland; online peer support was a key part of the experience and I hugely valued having others at the end of an email when things got difficult!

It was a huge juggling act to get everything done in the time available to me after doing my day job and anyone taking on Into Headship needs to be aware of this. However, leading a school certainly involves this type of juggling and so the course provides good practice!

Next steps? The course has inspired me and I am very keen to run a school one day. But for me, it is important that the timing and school are right; I am committed to living in Argyll and balancing the various parts of my life.
So for now, I am using everything I have learnt on the course to inform my practice as a Depute; I hope that this is having a positive impact on the learners in my school.

I am very grateful to Argyll and Bute Education for giving me the opportunity to take Into Headship.

Leave a Reply

